Honored One Nominations

Nominations for 2020 Red Earth Honored One accepted through January 6, 2020

The Red Earth Honored One
is an annual award presented to a visual artist whose support of Native art has been substantial throughout his/her life and whose continuing involvement, activity and participation in their art form embodies the collective wisdom of their cultural experience. This award is given to a living artist.

Since the inception of the Red Earth Festival in 1987, 38 artists have been named Red Earth Honored One, The prestigious recognition is a way to acknowledge the recipients' influence on the Native American artistic community.

Previous Honored One recipients have included Clancy Gray (pictured at left with OKC Mayor David Holt), Jim VanDeman, Mary Aitson, Les Berryhill, Merlin LittleThunder, Daniel Worcester, Bill Glass, Jr., Ruthe Blalock Jones, Gordon Yellowman, Jereldine Redcorn, Mike Larsen, Harvey Pratt, Vanessa Paukeigope Jennings, Ben Harjo, Troy Anderson, Charles Pratt, Dorothy Sullivan, Enoch Kelly Haney.

Feel free to contact the Red Earth office if you have questions (405-427-5228). Deadline for nominations is Monday, January 6, 2020. 

To submit a nomination fill out the form below.