Ambassador of the Year

Justice Yvonne Kaugered Honored as 2011 Ambassador of the Year

Justice Yvonne Kauger

Oklahoma Supreme Justice Yvonne Kauger will be recognized as the 2011 Red Ambassador of the Year during the Silver Anniversary celebration of the Red Earth Festival scheduled June 3-5 at the Cox Convention Center.

As 2011 is the 25th Anniversary of the Festival, it seems fitting that ‘The Mother of Red Earth' and co-founder be recognized.  She has worked tirelessly in an individual capacity to inform and educate the general public on the contributions of Native Americans.  For at least 24 years she has promoted a more positive image of all Native Americans and knows how important Red Earth is in showcasing and preserving the tradition, history and languages of Native Americans.

Justice Kauger will be recognized during the Silver Anniversary Red Earth Gala scheduled Thursday, June 2 in the Grand Ballroom of the Cox Convention Center, as an honored participant in the Red Earth Parade, and will receive her award immediately after the parade during the Red Earth Festival Grand Entry of Dancers on Friday June 3.

The Red Earth Ambassador award is represented by a bronze sculpture created by award-winning Native American artist Troy Anderson.  Previous Ambassadors have included Ted Turner, founder of CNN (1996); Wes Studi, actor (1998); N. Scott Momaday, author (1999); Charles Chibitty (2001); John Herrington, NASA astronaut (2003); and Betty Price, Oklahoma Arts Council (2004).

Ruthe Blalock Jones Named 2011 Honored One

Ruthe Blalock JonesRuthe Blalock Jones is an outstanding recipient for this prestigious award, for as a visual artist her support of American Indian art has been substantial throughout her life.  Ruthe has dedicated her life to the education and promotion of artists as she has prepared them in rich tradition of academic training as Director of Art at Bacone College.

She is a talented fine artist.  Her paintings can be found in permanent collections of private homes in over a dozen states, and in prestigious institutions such as the Heard Museum, Five Civilized Tribes Museum and the Museum of the American Indian.

Ms. Blalock Jones will be recognized during the Silver Anniversary Red Earth Festival.  She will be honored during the Art Awards Ceremony, be an honored participant in the Red Earth parade and recognized during the Sunday Grand Entry of Dancers.  Ruthe will also be featured in the Art Market.

Past Honored One recipients include Archie Blackowl and Allan Houser (1989); Mavis Doering (1994); Dorothy Sullivan (1999); Lloyd Kiva New (1994); Charles Pratt (2000); Vanessa Paukeigope Jennings (2004); Benjamin Harjo, Jr. (2003); and Austin Real Rider (2008).