Cummings receives Red Earth 'Spirit Award' during benefit auction & dinner at State Capitol rotunda

Posted on 12/20/2006

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK – Fridaylander Doug Cummings was named recipient of the 2006 Red Earth Spirit Award during a benefit auction & dinner held recently on the Fourth Floor Rotunda of the State Capitol. The evening featured a keynote address by Bill Anaotubby, Governor of the Chickasaw Nation, and a silent and live auction for the benefit of the Red Earth Museum and Red Earth Festival.

Cummings received the award for his substantial and lasting impact upon the organization, and joins an impressive list of Fridayland residents who have received the award including: Lorene Main, Troy and Annabelle Bowen, David G. Campbell, Louise Fent, Teri Stanek, Lela Sullivan and Jim Vallion.

Since 1995 the Red Earth Spirit Award has been presented in memory of past Red Earth board member Richard Fleischaker, who was one of the early supporters of the Red Earth Festival and Museum.

Betty Price, executive director of the Oklahoma Arts Council, served as Honorary Co-Chair of the event with John B. Herrington, U.S. Navy retired, the first Native American to travel into space. Other committee members included: Christy Alcox, Sudan Feller, Anna Hatfield, Barby Jobe, Vickie Norick, Teri Stanek, and Sharilyn Young.

Some other guests included Pulitzer Prize winning author N. Scott Momaday, Olympic star Billy Mills, former Transportation Secretary Neal McCaleb, former Creek Nation Chief Fred Beaver, State Representative Shane Jett and his wife Ana, and award-winning Chickasaw Artist Mike Larsen and wife Martha.